DIY: Fall Yarn Wreath

Of course I drew this inspiration from my Pinterest board. It seems that all inspiration is come from there these days. But hey – at least it’s making me crafty, right? So win!

I hosted a bridal shower this weekend for one of my cousins. She’s getting married at the end of October and that means anything and everything Fall. I love Fall (and the weather) and I mean I L-O-V-E Fall! So, the decorating was an easy and welcome task for me to do. I wanted to make it a little special for her, with some special touches here and there. One of the things I wanted to make was a wreath for my front door. I had one that I’ve used for the past 4 years, but this year I wanted a more modern twist on things.  There’s a seller on Etsy, that makes some killer wreaths – ItzFitz – and while I love almost every single one of her wreaths, I didn’t have time to place an order, and I really wanted the challenge to see if I could do this myself.

So off to Hobby Lobby (one of my least favorite stores in this world) I went. The list for this DIY is relatively short, you’ll need the following:

Straw Wreath ($3.99)

Yarn ($3.99)

1/4 – 1/2 yard of felt – various colors if you like ($5.99/yard)

Fiber accents or Decorative yarn for embellishment.

Step 1: Begin wrapping your wreath with the base color that you chose for the body of the wreath. I left the plastic on. It didn’t seem to cause any problems. Make sure to keep the yarn tight, but not too tight. The yarn will shift while wrapping, so you’ll need to make sure you keep pushing the yarn close to each other to prevent spacing.

Step 2: Keep wrapping. This is probably the most time consuming part of the entire project. If I would of sat down continuously, this part would of probably taken an hour to do. So pop in a movie or listen to some music to help pass the time.

Step 3: Wrap fiber accents (or decorative yarn) to add embellishment. I just so happen to have these guys in my stash. So I didn’t have to go out and buy anything. Some of the really crazy yarns would work well here too. I would use two separate kinds – having two separate textures also helped add some interest. So keep that in mind. Wrap the first color around the entire wreath, leaving a decent amount of space between each piece. Once you’ve secured that in place, take your next color and wrap it in the opposite direction essentially making an X at the intersection of each color. My spacing wasn’t perfect as I was in a hurry, but you may want to eyeball this before you secure it in place.

Step 4: Make the felt flowers. You can make as many as you want, but I wanted to keep it simple. I made five. Okay, I made more, but they were too huge and I had to restart them from scratch. But these are pretty easy to make. Don’t be intimidated! My pics are of the red color, which I later decided against. You’ll see in the final product. I highly suggest watching this video tutorial that shows you the proper way to make these flowers. I followed it to a T. I originally wanted to make my flowers two-tone, but again, due to time, I stuck with the solid color. Next time.

Step 5: Glue on the flowers. I highly suggest playing around with your placement before committing to glue. I had to actually tilt some of the flowers in order to make it work and look right. Once you’re happy with your arrangement, get your hot glue on.

Step 6: Marvel at how easy and awesome this craft was to do!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

